Whitesnake - Forevermore CD

Upgrade to a FileSonic Premium account and download at incredible speed!

Click image to download full CD
Three years ago, Whitesnake released Good to Be Bad, a comeback album that reached the U.K.'s Top Five. It walked the line between their brand of U.K. hard rock and `80s glam metal. On Forevermore, David Coverdale polishes the production -- a tad -- focuses the guitars more, and successfully fuses Whitesnake's various eras, and succeeds in spades. There is a new rhythm section with drummer Brian Tichy and bassist Michael Devlin. Forevermore commences with "Steal Your Heart Away," an old-school, nasty, slide guitar workout with a harmonica solo, that revs into a full-blown blues-rocker with a killer chorus. Guitarists Doug Aldrich and Reb Beach shine on the instrumental bridge. The album's first single, "Love Will Set You Free," is top-notch Whitesnake that nods back to the early years while grounding itself in the present. "All Out of Luck," and "Tell Me How" measure up in the same way. "I Need You (Shine a Light)" is an enormous surprise; its hook is so infectious it sounds like Coverdale's been listening to Cheap Trick's earliest records. The acoustic midtempo ballad "One Of These Days" carries a trace of country in its melody, hearkening back to the Restless Heart era. Coverdale reveals he's more than competent to write a fine, lyrically savvy love song, when he's not thinking with his dick. "Fare Thee Well," another acoustic number, showcases Coverdale at his most intimate. "Whipping Boy Blues" is a dirty slide rocker that reconciles both sides of the band. "My Evil Ways," with its calamitous drum intro, is punishing; Coverdale pulls out all the stops to deliver his finest vocal performance on the set. The album's true highlight, however, is in the closing title track. Over seven minutes, it begins as an acoustic number before morphing into a stellar Whitesnake power ballad. After a two-and-a-half minute acoustic guitar/vocal intro, the band enters with a "Kashmir"-like chord sequence; they keep it slow but increase the drama; it eventually explodes into a bone crusher with killer guitar solos and a gorgeous melody. Forevermore, despite its tighter arrangements and more polished production (and "Dogs in the Street," its lone loser cut) is Whitesnake at its Brit hard rock best. ~ Thom Jurek

"FOREVERMORE" is the band's 11th studio album, and produced by Coverdale, guitarist Doug Aldrich and Michael McIntyre.

1 Steal Your Heart Away See All 4
2 All Out of Luck See All 4
3 Love Will Set You Free See All 4
4 Easier Said Than Done See All 4
5 Tell Me How See All 4
6 I Need You (Shine a Light) See All 4
7 One of These Days See All 4
8 Love and Treat Me Right See All 4
9 Dogs In the Street See All 4
10 Fare Thee Well See All 4
11 Whipping Boy Blues See All 4
12 My Evil Ways See All 4
13 Forevermore See All 4
14 Love Will Set You Free See All 4 Alt Mix
15 My Evil Ways See All 4 Alt Mix With Drum Solo
16 Forevermore See All 4 Acoustic Version



Click here for comments
Thursday, April 14, 2011 ×

Forevermore is fantastic! From beginning to end an amazing trip through the history of Whitesnake ... fire, passion, the power of music ... the snake's venom is stronger than ever ... I am honored to be able to hear this record ... Thanks David Coverdale, for giving the world this gift!

Thursday, April 14, 2011 ×

Great music, thanks for sharing.